What is ESOL?

ESOL is English for Speakers of Other Languages.

City & Guilds Levels Common European Framework Levels




Entry 2


Entry 3


Level 1


Level 2

ESOL Skills for Life (4692)
ESOL Skills for Life qualifications support speakers ofother languages based within the UK to develop their English language skills for work, further learning or everyday life.

This revised suite of ESOL Skills for Life qualifications covers 5 levels: Entry 1, Entry 2, Entry 3, Level 1 and Level 2. It includes ‘single-mode’ Awards in Reading, Writing and Speaking & Listening, as well as a ‘full-mode’ Certificate that combines all three.

These qualifications are intended for anyone based in the UK needing to improve their understanding and use of written or spoken English. This might be to help get on at work (or get a job), prepare for further study, access public services, or just to function more effectively in an English speaking environment.

What is involved in studying this course?
People’s reasons for needing to improve their English often vary, and these qualifications are designed to be flexible. There are separate small qualifications in Speaking & Listening, Reading and Writing, as well as a larger qualification that includes all three.

You’ll usually be asked to complete a short test at the start of your course that’s known as an initial assessment. This will help to decide which ESOL qualification is right for you.


For further information, please contact:
Majella Quinn, Assistant Head of Department -